Maddie Hasson '20 is reading...

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death
By: Maggie O’Farrell

I Am, I Am, I Am is a memoir written by Maggie O’Farrell that chronicles seventeen near death experiences in her life. Each chapter tells a story of a different life-altering experience, from a childhood illness, to near drowning after a midnight jump into the ocean, to a hospital procedure gone awry. The book culminates with the story of her daughter, who suffers from a life-threatening illness.

Often, while reading this book I would forget that it was a true story, rather than a work of fiction. Each event, both its occurrence and O’Farrell’s survival, seems more unlikely than the last. In whole, the book portrays Maggie O’Farrell as a miracle, time and time again narrowly escaping perilous situations. Through her writing, it becomes clear the way each event alters her mindset and perspective on life.

This book is memorable not only for the stories it tells, but for the way in which they are told. O’Farrell writes in a way that portrays hope, rather than terror. Her experiences force reflection of our own lives, recognizing the defining moments that were inches away from tragedy.

Find in Library

Leave a Reply